Committees

Adult Services:

Purpose: To identify and address issues and needs pertaining to adults with developmental disabilities (age 18 years and older).

Co-Chairs:
Contact Iris Goldberg: ijed4@aol.com
Contact Jacqueline Tripodi: jtripodi15@gmail.com

Advocacy:

Purpose: To actively engage and inform representatives of governing agencies (e.g. OPWDD) and all elected public officials of the needs and concerns of intellectually and developmentally disabled individuals and their families. The committee arranges meetings on a variety of specific and relevant topics, coordinates a quarterly Legislative Information Exchange, develops the SIDDC’s annual position paper and hosts the annual Legislative Breakfast.

Co-Chairs:
Contact Barbara Devaney: vandev52@msn.com
Contact Donna Long: donnalong13@aol.com

Care Management:

Purpose: To provide an opportunity for Care Managers and interested parties to network, exchange ideas, share resources and discuss current issues and trends. Topics of relevance to Care Managers are presented to guest and/or committee members at monthly meetings.

Co-Chairs:
Contact Corine Urciuoli: siddc.msc@gmail.com
Contact Janet LaMantia: siddc.msc@gmail.com

Community Outreach:

Purpose: To disseminate and publicize council information and other relevant issues to the community through the SIDDC website, flyers, newsletters, local newspapers, and presentations at council meetings; to oversee the Sub-committee that plans the annual Family Resource & Transition Fair.

Co-Chairs:
Contact Pam Minkoff: pamela.minkoff@ahrcnyc.org
Contact Melissa Primiano-D’Accordo, Ph.D.: mprimiano@cpofnys.org

Education:

Purpose: To identify and address issues pertaining to the education of individuals with developmental disabilities (birth to age 21).

Co-Chairs:
Contact Laura Kennedy: lkennedy30@northwell.edu
Contact Maryalice Fegeley: mfegeley@ptopnys.org

Family Resource and Transition Fair:

Purpose: Our annual family support and transition fair offers individuals, families, and agency personnel the opportunity to interact with providers and governmental agencies to learn about service options and the issues and options surrounding the transition process.

Co-Chairs:
Contact Irene Cavanagh, Ed.D.: icavanagh@eden2.org
Contact Jeanne Englert: jmenglert2@gmail.com

Family Support Services Advisory Council (FSSAC):

Purpose: The FSS Advisory Council (FSSAC) is open to anyone living on Staten Island who has a family member with a developmental disability living full time in their family home, as well as to individuals with developmental disabilities. A family member may remain a member even if their family member with a developmental disability no longer lives in their home, or is deceased.

The FSSAC represents the needs of local individuals and families and works in partnership with the local Office of People with Developmental Disabilities office, known as the Developmental Disabilities Regional Office (DDRO), to plan, develop and monitor Family Support Services (FSS) programs on Staten Island.

The FSSAC works with the DDRO to evaluate current FSS programs to determine whether they meet the needs of families and individuals. They also provide direct input regarding program viability and whether or not programs should be renewed based on merit and performance. The Council may also make recommendations about how to improve the quality and effectiveness of FSS programs.

The local FSSAC also seeks to increase community outreach and to promote awareness of FSS programs on Staten Island.

Join the FSSAC if you want to have a voice in advocating for services for your loved one.

Co-Chairs:
Contact Diane Peruggia: dperuggia@aol.com
Contact Gail Decker: gaiser6@aol.com

Health and Clinical Services:

Purpose: To focus on issues concerning all aspects of health services, including medical, rehabilitative and mental health.

Chairperson:
Contact Jayne Cooper: jcooper@simhs.org

Membership and Guidelines:

Purpose: To review new applications for council membership, assess membership status, and outreach for new members. Requests for by-laws changes must be submitted to and reviewed by this committee and then brought to the executive board before being submitted to the full council.

Co-Chairs:
Contact Linda Coull: llcoull@yahoo.com
Contact Scott Salinardi: scott.salinardi@lfdsi.org

Residential Quality of Life:

Purpose: To identify and address issues pertaining to the quality of life of individuals with intellectual and developmental disabilities living in residential settings. We discuss all aspects of residential programming, including regulations, role of staff/clinicians and residential opportunities. Meetings are held on a monthly basis and our committee participates in an annual presentation.

Co-Chairs:
Contact Jason Harr: jharr@onyourmark.org
Contact Linda Coull: llcoull@yahoo.com

Self Directed Supports:

Purpose: Fiscal Intermediary Providers, Care Managers, Self-hired Support Staff and all other valuable stakeholders to share resources and discuss issues to support people who choose to take direct responsibility to manage their services and lead a self-directed life. Meetings are held 6-12 times per year and guest speakers present on a variety of topics at these meetings.

Co-Chairs:
Contact Jason Riccardelli: Jason@pccsny.org

Willowbrook Property Planning:

Purpose: The Willowbrook Property Planning Committee’s mission is to develop a sustaining presence of the experience of Willowbrook State School. The committee has developed a collaborative relationship with the College of Staten Island (CSI) and the CTV cable station. These collaborations have created two ongoing projects, “The Willowbrook Mile” and the television series, “Willowbrook Revisited.” Members of the committee serve on the CSI Steering Committee which is planning and implementing the Mile which is a walking trail through the former grounds of Willowbrook. Signs/milestones along the path give insightful perspectives and information about the Willowbrook experience. The Willowbrook Revisited show is a retrospective look at the institution including interviews with those who experienced the impact of Willowbrook.

The committee drives both projects and meeting as a committee 3 times a year to discuss the direction and progress of the projects.

Co-Chairs:
Contact Diane Buglioli: dbuglioli@avspny.org
Contact Eric Goldberg: eric2985@icloud.com